Record Crowd Sees Maryland Top BC to Win Championship

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - Sophomore attacker Caroline Steele scored six goals as the top-seeded Maryland lacrosse beat Boston College, 16-13, Sunday to win the program's 14th national championship and finish the season undefeated.

"I'd like to start off and say congratulations to Boston College. They were a tough team today, and a tough opponent," head coach Cathy Reese said. "To kind of cap it off, I was really proud of our team. Proud of our girls' effort. We struggled shooting in the first half, but we came out in the second half on fire. Give these guys all the credit. They played hard. They played their hearts out. To have the season that they had this year going undefeated was something that's really special. So huge congratulations to all of my players."

Junior attacker Taylor Hensh finished with a hat trick while sophomore midfielder Jen Giles, junior attacker Megan Whittle and freshman attacker Kali Hartshorn each scored twice.

Maryland played in its fifth straight final and won its third title in four years. The Terps scored just 10 seconds into the game and racked up five goals in the first 4:29 of the second half, but Boston College kept it from becoming a runaway.

The Terps completed an undefeated season for the fifth time in program history and the first time since 2001. Maryland has won three NCAA Championships in the last four years.

Although Maryland never trailed, the Terps were pushed by Eagles, who battled back from an early 5-2 deficit to tie it at 5-all at halftime.

After being shut out for the last 16:11 of the first half, the Terps stormed out of halftime with five goals in the first 4:29 of the second half to regain command.

Caroline Wannen scored for Maryland with 12:04 left to start the Terps on another scoring surge. Hensh put Maryland up 13-10, then, after Kent's fifth goal of the game, the Terps picked up three more unanswered goals by Kali Hartshorn, Steele and Hensh with 4:07 left to all but seal another title for Maryland.

Hartshorn put Maryland up 1-0 on a goal just 10 seconds into the game. Hensh made it 2-0 1:42 later when she plucked her own rebound out of the air and swept it in behind BC goalie Zoe Ochoa.

* * * *

BOSTON - With a 16-13 victory over Boston College in Sunday's NCAA championship game, Maryland's women's lacrosse team won its third national title in the last four years and 13th overall. The top-seeded Terrapins won the title in front of a record NCAA women's lacrosse tournament crowd of 11,668 fans at Gillette Stadium.

The Terrapins used a 5-0 run in the first five minutes of the second half to break open a game that was tied 5-5 at intermission. Sophomore attack and Big Ten Tournament MVP Caroline Steele led the offensive attack for Maryland, as she tallied six goals and one assist. Steele's six goals tied a NCAA women's lacrosse championship game record.

Taylor Hensh recorded three goals, while Megan Whittle, Kali Hartshorn and Jen Giles each notched two goals and one assist on the afternoon. Seniors Caroline Wannen (1G, 1A) and Zoe Stukenberg (3A) each registered multi-point games, too. Goaltender Megan Taylor was solid in between the pipes for the Terps, as she stopped 12 shots.

With Maryland's win on Sunday, Big Ten women's lacrosse teams have won 26 national championships and 22 of the 36 NCAA Championships, including 11 of the last 13. Maryland claimed seven straight titles from 1995 to 2001, while Northwestern has won seven NCAA titles, highlighted by five consecutive from 2005 to 2009 and most recently in 2012. Penn State has earned five national championships, including NCAA titles in 1987 and 1989.


Create a free lacrosse website