Maryland Downs Ohio State to Win the National Championship

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. The Maryland men's lacrosse team defeated Ohio State 9-6 to capture the 2017 Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship at Gillette Stadium Monday.

Junior Tim Rotanz scored three goals to pace the Terps offense, while senior defender Tim Muller was named the Championship's Most Outstanding Player.

The Maryland held the Buckeye attack at bay for most of the afternoon, limiting OSU to just 25 shots while junior goalie Dan Morris made 11 saves. The Terps would score four goals in the fourth quarter to seal the three-foal victory, as the Terps captured their 12th all-time National Title and first since 1975.

Maryland took a 5-2 lead into the locker room, thanks in part to a pair of goals from junior Adam DiMillo who entered Saturday's game with just three goals on the year.

Rotanz, Maltz and Kelly all scored as well to help the Terps build up a three-goal advantage. Maryland's defense came up with several big stops to thwart the Buckeye attack, which included five first half saves for Morris.

In addition to Muller, Rotanz, Connor Kelly, Dylan Maltz, Dan Morris and Matt Rambo were named to the all-tournament team.

* * * *

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. The No. 3-seeded Ohio State men's lacrosse team saw its historic season come to a close with a 9-6 defeat to top-seeded Maryland in the NCAA Championship game Monday afternoon at Gillette Stadium in front of a crowd of 28,971. The Buckeyes conclude the season with a program-record 16 wins and the first NCAA semifinal and title game appearances in program history.

The game ended the career for the 11 members of the Buckeye senior class - Lucas Bailey, JT Blubaugh, Tom Carey, Nick Doyle, Eric Fannell, John Kelly, Bryan Lichtenauer, Johnny Pearson, Tyler Pfister, Austin Shanks and Jake Withers. The group was a part of 41 wins over the last four years, the most in a four-year span in program history.

For their efforts in Foxborough, Carey, a goalie, and freshman attackman Tre Leclaire were named to the NCAA All-Tournament team.

Maryland 9, Ohio State 6 The Short Version

The Buckeyes scored first in a back-and-forth first 15 minutes, but Maryland answered with the final two tallies of the frame to take a 3-2 lead after the first quarter. The Terps then scored twice in the first six minutes of the second quarter to push the advantage to 5-2 at the half. After each team found the back of the net once in the third quarter, Maryland scored the first two goals of the fourth to make it an 8-3 game. Three-straight Buckeye goals cut the Terps' advantage to 8-6 before an insurance tally in the final minute capped the scoring at 9-6.

Carey made 13 saves in the Buckeye cage, tallying double-digit save in every NCAA game this season, while Leclaire scored and added an assist. Sophomore Logan Maccani also had four groundballs and a goal.

In the First Quarter

Ohio State opened the scoring in a back-and-forth first quarter when Shanks tallied his 15th of the year at the 11:02 mark. Maryland's Tim Rotanz answered at 5:53 but the Buckeyes' Colin Chell put Ohio State ahead once again at 5:08. However, an Adam DiMillo goal at the 3:03 mark tied the game at 2-2 before Connor Kelly gave the Terrapins the 3-2 advantage with 59 seconds remaining in the quarter. Withers won five of six faceoffs over the first 15 minutes of play.

In the Second Quarter

Maryland's Dylan Maltz opened the second quarter with a goal at the 12:37 mark and DiMillo scored again at 9:43 to push the lead to 5-2, where it would remain at the half. The Terrapins held an 11-4 lead in shots in the second quarter, with Carey making three saves.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website