Photos: Terps Top Buckeyes for First Championship Since '75

Foxborough, MA - In a classic battle, Maryland prevailed over Ohio State, 9-6, to claim the 2017 national championship on Monday afternoon at Gillette Stadium. It was the team's first title since the 1975 season.

The Terps were impressive on defense and at face-off, and Tim Rotanz scored three times to lead the way on offense. Maryland held the Buckeyes to just one goal from 5:08 of the first quarter to 10:24 of the fourth, when Jake Withers won the face-off and netted a shot, sparking a three-goal run that closed the gap to 8-6 with 2:25 remaining. But the Terps regained possession, and Rotanz scored a long empty-net goal with 58 seconds remaining to seal the victory.

Photos of the action are by Ben and James Mackey.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website