Major League Lacrosse

Bayhawks Announce Cottle's Return as Head Coach

ANNAPOLIS, MD Longtime member of the Chesapeake Bayhawks organization Dave Cottle has signed on as head coach for the 2018 Major League Lacrosse season, succeeding previous head coach Brian Reese, the team announced Wednesday. Cottle will also retain his responsibilities as General Manager going forward. Cottle is not a new face for the Chesapeake Bayhawks and is certainly not a new face in the game of lacrosse. He boasts 32 years coaching experience in his career of 28 years at the collegiate level and four with MLL.

"With a new Crownsville stadium complex in the offing, and all the work and development for the team and the brand that it will require, the organization is looking for the Head Coach to be a fulltime position in 2018. Dave Cottle more than fits that bill," said President Mark Burdett.

"It's an exciting time to be a Bayhawk," notes team Owner, Brendan Kelly, "We have a bright future on the horizon, but to accomplish this vision we need more people in more places more often. That includes the community. As Anne Arundel County's only professional sports team, we want to give back to the community we have been fortunate enough to play in since 2010, and foster growth of the game of lacrosse through youth athletics as well. There's no better person to help us win championships, support our community, and grow the game than Dave Cottle."

Coach Cottle has earned a collection of accolades in his career, including the induction into the IMLCA Hall of Fame (2017), US Lacrosse Hall of Fame for the Chesapeake Chapter (2016), the Loyola University Hall of Fame (2014), ACC Coach of the Year (2008), and the Salisbury University Hall of Fame (1989). As Head Coach at Loyola College (now Loyola University) from 1988 to 2001, Cottle led the team to 14 straight NCAA tournament appearances, including a pair of berths in the national semifinals, totaling 191 wins over 19 seasons. Cottle then went on to coach at the University of Maryland, yielding 99 wins and 8 consecutive NCAA tournament appearances.

"I believe in professional lacrosse, the Chesapeake Bayhawks, and the greatness of the players in the league. I love the players we have on our team. I appreciate all the hard work that Coach Reese has done the last couple years. We will continue to build on that with our goal being "All In" to win the Steinfeld Cup," stated Coach Cottle on Wednesday.

With the Bayhawks, Cottle has held every title from Consultant (2010), President (2011-20120), Head Coach (2012-2015), and General Manager (2016-2017). During his span as the Bayhawks Head Coach, the team garnered 30 wins, went 4-0 in the playoffs, and brought home the MLL championship title in 2012 and 2013.

"When we announced the search for a fulltime Head Coach in September, we met with several external applicants with impressive stature in the lacrosse and coaching industries. However, after careful consideration, we came to the conclusion that the best candidate for what this organization needs now and in the future, was already at our table in Coach Cottle. He just had to be sure he wanted it, and after a lot of conversations and some soul searching, he is ready, and we are excited to welcome Coach Cottle back in this expanded capacity," said President Mark Burdett.

Veteran Bayhawks players share in the organization's excitement as they look toward the 2018 season. Defender Mike Evans, drafted to the team in 2009, shared, "Coach Cottle is one of the all-time great minds in lacrosse. But what's even more important is that he's a great person. Coach Cottle knows what it means to be a Bayhawk and helps spread these values throughout the community."

Attackman Matt Abbott, also with the team for eight years, said, "I couldn't think of a better person to take the helm than Coach Cottle. Having played for and won championships under him in the past, I know that the Bayhawks are in great hands moving forward."

The Chesapeake Bayhawks kick off the 2018 season on Saturday, April 21st at home at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis.

  ... [full story]

MLL Stories

MLL 2018 Schedule Released; Season to Begin April 21

MLL's Rattlers to Relocate to Frisco, Texas for 2018 Season

Boston Cannons Add Former UVa Coach Dom Starsia to Staff

Cannons Edged in High-Scoring Affair as Launch Clinch Berth

Cannons Fall to Hounds in Charlotte

Rosters for Legends Game at Lake Placid Summit Classic

Bayhawks Scuttle Launch; Cannons Outgunned at New York

Cannons Overwhelmed on the Road at Rochester

Florida Edges Bayhawks in High-Scoring Battle

Florida Throttled in Road Game at Atlanta

Ohio Drops One-Goal Decision to New York Lizards

Florida Winning Streak Ends vs. Charlotte

Cannons Drop Heartbreaker in Overtime to Ohio

2017 MLL All-Star Game Roster Announced

Cannons Win Big at Denver; Launch Extinguish Blaze

Florida Takes OT Win to Sweep Lizards

Cannons Come Back by Fall to Ohio in OT

Cannons Outgunned by Outlaws

Ohio Grounds Bayhawks; Launch Sink Lizards

Results of the 2017 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft

Rattlers Edge Denver; Machine Flattens Launch

Boston Tops NY; Florida Rallies, Nips Rattlers in OT

Florida Launch Fall to Unbeaten Denver

Ohio Machine Fall to the Rochester Rattlers in OT

Florida Launch Fall in OT to Boston Cannons

Ohio Machine Defeat Altanta Blaze for First Time

Lizards Owner Reels in the Big Fish - Paul Rabil

2017 MLL Championship Game Set for Frisco, Texas

Major League Lacrosse Rule Changes for the 2017 Season

Gross to Step Down as MLL Commissioner After 2017 Season

Results of the Major League Lacrosse Supplemental Draft

John Grant Jr. Keeps Rolling at 42, Signs for 2017 MLL Season

Major League Lacrosse Announces 2017 Schedule

Major League Lacrosse Announces 23-Man Protected Rosters

Denver Wins the MLL Championship with Record Comeback

All-Major League Lacrosse Team for 2016 Announced

Tom Schreiber Named MLL's 2016 Most Valuable Player

Pannell Wins the MLL 2016 Warrior Offensive Player of Year

Rattler Pair Named MLL 2016 Defensive Players of the Year

John Galloway Named MLL's 2016 Brine Goalie of the Year

Grant Leads Ohio by Charlotte to MLL Championship Game

Outlaws Win Shootout with NY to Advance to MLL Title Game

Hounds' Stagnitta Named MLL 2016 Brine Coach of the Year

Chanenchuk Named MLL's 2016 Most Improved Player

Denver's Kelly Named MLL's 2016 Cascade Rookie of Year

Gurenlian Named the 2016 MLL FOAthlete of the Year

MLL Playoffs Set; John Grant, Jr. Sets Record to Lead Ohio

Team Headstrong Wins First-Ever MLL Alumni Game

Outlaws Win Sixth Straight to Keep Playoff Hopes Alive

MLL Scores
There are no current game results to display.

MLL Standings
New York230.400230.400

MLL Schedule

Create a free lacrosse website