LaxPower's exclusive ratings and rankings are now available for premium users via the LaxPower app and Download the app today and never miss a minute of the action.

Automatic Qualifiers and At-Large Teams

The Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship is an 18-team, single-elimination tournament.  Nine conferences are eligible for automatic qualification.  However, the two lowest-ranked AQ teams, regardless of conference RPI, will compete in a preliminary game to determine the final AQ spot in the 16-team bracket.  The remaining teams are selected at large.  Conferences with Automatic Qualifier (AQ) consideration are:
America East
Big East
Big Ten
Colonial (CAA)
Ivy League
Metro Atlantic (MAAC)
Northeast (NEC)
Patriot League
See conferences for members and current standings.

A team must play a minimum of 10 games against Division I opponents during the regular season to be considered for selection.  To be considered as an at-large selection, a team must have a .500 or better record against Division I opponents.

Primary Criteria for Selecting At-Large Teams

The Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee employs criteria specified in NCAA Bylaws.  When selecting teams for possible at-large berths, primary factors considered when reviewing teams' won-loss records and strength of schedule are (not in priority order) as follows: Input is also provided by the Regional Advisory Committee. However, coaches' polls or other rankings are not used by the selection committee.

The top eight teams are seeded and separated in the bracket, with the remaining eight placed geographically with consideration also given to separating conference opponents in the first round.

Create a free lacrosse website