LaxPower's exclusive ratings and rankings are now available for premium users via the LaxPower app and Download the app today and never miss a minute of the action.

General Information

The Division II Men's Lacrosse Championship consists of an eight-team, single-elimination tournament.  Pairings are determined by regional alignments (North and South), with four teams being selected from each region.  There is no automatic qualification for the tournament.

See conferences for members and current standings.  The distribution of conferences by geographic region is as follows:

North Region
East Coast Conference (9)
Northeast-10 Conference (12)
Independent (2)
South Region
Conference Carolinas (8)
Great Midwest (7)
Rocky Mountain (6)
South Atlantic (9)
Sunshine State (6)
Independent (7)

Required Selection Criteria

The following required criteria shall be employed by the selection committee in selecting participants:
  • Division II in-region winning percentage
  • Division II winning percentage
  • Division II strength of schedule **
  • Division II head-to-head competition
  • Results vs. Division II common opponents
Lacrosse-Specific Selection Criteria
  • Division II results vs. teams with a winning record
  • In-region strength of schedule **
  • Ratings Percentage Index (RPI)
** Opponents' average winning percentage and opponents' opponents' average winning percentage

Input is also provided by regional advisory committees.  However, coaches' or other polls or rankings are not used by the selection committee.

Create a free lacrosse website